News: The packet of 9 documents I was waiting to come back from the US Dept of State Authentication Office arrived! That means that stack of paperwork has just 1 more stop to make before it’s sent to our adoption agency for approval/translation/packaging/mailing to China! That stop is the Chinese embassy in DC. We do still have to wait, however, for the fingerprint approval document from USCIS & then that document has to go through its 5 steps of sealing. But progress! Sweet progress! :)

Valentine’s Day is coming & we have had several snow days. Snow days are good for doing crafty things around the house because you can’t leave and do anything else. So I made a couple festive “garlands” for the mantel. I have had the itch to mess with fabric for a while after seeing some cool ones online. So here they are:

20140129-221733.jpg

The strand of hearts is just a double fusible layer with a fabric ironed onto each side of it, then cut heart shapes out. I stranded them together with a tiny rick-rack, just stitched on with my machine with about a pressor foot space between each. I stitched mine at an angle, but you could do them end to end or side by side…

20140129-222205.jpg

The other is sort of a messy fabric tassel. I cut thin strips (about 1/2 inch by 6 inches), several layers at a time. I think I ended up with 8 strips per tassel. Then folded each in half (one at a time) over a length of baker’s twine & wrapped another around the top, securing it in the back with 2 or 3 stitches with a needle & thread. (Trying to catch through the baker’s twine at least one stitch to keep the tassel from sliding along it.) I spaced my tassels about 3 inches apart. Here are some pictures.

20140129-222701.jpg

20140129-222740.jpg

20140129-222813.jpg

20140129-222853.jpg

Share some joy with your loved ones!

