I was cleaning out the closet in the bathroom a couple weeks ago. Throwing stuff out, organizing. When I came across these two old lipsticks.

20140220-090828.jpg
Clearly they aren’t useful for wearing anymore-the one on the right is almost 11years old & the one on the left must be about 15 yrs old. I’m not a big lipstick wearer anyhow. So as I was cleaning out, I set them to the side but as many times before, I couldn’t quite throw them away. Why keep such old stale things that have no use? Well, memories I guess.

You see the one on the left I bought out of duty toward the beginning of my freshman year of college at dear old Purdue. It was the required matching lipstick shade of the Purduettes at that time when I was a “new woman” in the all women singing group. The shade is “Cover Girl Very Berry” or “Very Scary” as we used to jokingly call it because most of us were not used to wearing such a bright shade. Now I didn’t love the lipstick-it wasn’t particularly flattering to me, it was hard to wash off. But I did/do love the many people it reminds me of. The people that I met, the friends, the memories of growing into ourselves in the experiences college can bring.

The one on the right is the lipstick I bought to wear on my wedding day. While the day itself was lovely, it’s the memories of the journey of marriage & our covenant that makes it hard to throw this one away.

So I won’t. I’ll keep them (but not wear them-ick!)

What about you? What are you nostalgic about? What do you hold on to because of the memories it allows you to bring up in your mind & enjoy?

